Past Events

Music + Festival 2021: Nadia Boulanger and her students

Concert IV: Chamber Music and Song

Sunday, October 10, 2021
2:00pm

Holsclaw Hall

Program includes:
Topaz by Mary Lou Prince,
for harp and string quartet
“Bariolage” from Trilogy by Elliott Carter

Ariadna Demkov, Dr. Michelle Gott, harp

Photo of Angela Schwarzkopf

Virtual Presentation and Masterclass on the Music of Marcel Tournier

With special guest Angela Schwarzkopf

Wednesday, November 4th
4-6 pm MST (3-5 pm PST; 5-7 pm CDT; 6-8 pm EST)

Join us for a presentation and masterclass on the magical music of harpist-composer Marcel Tournier given by Canadian harpist extraordinaire and Tournier scholar Angela Schwarzkopf. Featured repertoire will include Féerie and several movements from his Images Suites.

Virtual Tucson HarpFest Schedule of Events: Sunday, October 25th

All times are Mountain Standard (MST)

11-12:00 pm Trivia Hour with HarpFusion

Join the harp studio for this virtual trivia event focused on harps, harpists, music and more!

Grand Prize: $50 gift certificate to harp.com

Join us in Google Meet

1-2:30 pm Let’s Talk about Tech! Presentation and Workshop with Lara Somogyi

This virtual workshop offers participants a deep-dive into technology and recording in the harp world!

Join us in Google Meet

Photo of Dr. Ashley Jackson

Afro Harping: Spirituals

Lecture and Workshop
with Dr. Ashley Jackson

March 24, 2021
2-4 pm (Arizona)

 

Join us for a special presentation and workshop on the music of Black composers, with Dr. Ashley Jackson. The workshop will focus particularly on a collection of spirituals – Twenty-Four Negro Melodies, Op. 59 – by Samuel Coleridge-Taylor. Dr. Jackson will also work with participants on their transcriptions of “I’m Troubled in Mind” and “Deep River.”

This event is free to attend and will be offered via Zoom. All are welcome!

Photo of Lara Somogyi

Virtual Tucson HarpFest with special guest, Lara Somogyi

Saturday, October 24th
Sunday, October 25th

Welcome to the Second Annual Tucson HarpFest in our first virtual edition! This year, we are thrilled to present Los Angeles-based harpist, composer, and recording artist, Lara Somogyi, for a livestream concert and a virtual workshop about technology in the harp world.

There will also be an open house for prospective students and a masterclass by Dr. Michelle Gott.

All events are free for participants, but we ask that you consider making a donation of any size to the University of Arizona harp program.

Virtual Workshop with Katie Buckley

Saturday, October 3rd
9-11:30 am MST
(11 am-1:30 pm CDT; 12-2:30 pm EDT; 4-6:30 pm in Reykjavik)

What’s it like to perform, record, and tour with Björk? Have you ever been curious about taking an orchestral audition in a foreign country? What should you do when a recording artist asks you to play that passage with more sparkle?

For a deep-dive into these and other questions, come meet Katie Buckley, principal harpist of the Iceland Symphony Orchestra and recording artist for Björk.

In this interactive workshop, we’ll explore unusual requests you may receive in the studio as well as creative solutions to these musical puzzles.

All events are free for participants, but we ask that you consider making a donation of any size to the University of Arizona harp program.

Join us in Google Meet.

Photo of Xiaodi Xu

Xiaodi Xu

DMA Solo Recital
January 23, 2021
3:00pm MST

Works by D. Scarlatti, J.S. Bach, C.P.E. Bach, Jacques de la Presle, Marcel Tournier, and Marcel Grandjany.

This recital will be offered via livestream.

Virtual Tucson HarpFest Schedule of Events: Saturday, October 24th

All times are Mountain Standard (MST)

9-9:45 am Virtual Open House for prospective students

Come meet Dr. Michelle Gott and the current harp studio at the University of Arizona, ask questions and learn more about our program!

Join us in Google Meet

3:00 pm Live-stream Concert featuring Lara Somogyi!

Watch on Twitch

4:00 pm Virtual Reception with Lara

Join us in Google Meet

Virtual HarpFest Schedule